Bathroom Mirror

I was not going to make a video about this, but I recently renovated my bathroom with new sanitary ware and tiles etc. In an attempt to ‘knock’ the newness off it (I dont like my house feeling too new like a show home) I decided that I wanted to ‘antique’ the mirror, so I bought one from Ikea and removed the backing and then with nitromoors removed the sprayed on layer. When that was gone, I started experimenting with Goddards Silver dip to remove the silvering from the back of the mirror. I guess because the mirror was cheap £15 as opposed to buying a cut piece of mirror £30, the silvering came away much more easily than on the tests I had previously done. I then rollered on some black acrylic paint to stablise the silvering and attached it to the frame I had made with silicone. I am pleased with how it looks.

Leave a Reply

